# SOUTHEAST MISSOURI REGIONAL PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

# Meeting Summary January 24, 2023

The quarterly meeting of the Transportation Advisory Committee did have a quorum present. The meeting took place on Tuesday, January 24, 2023, at the SEMO Regional Planning Commission in Perryville, Missouri.

#### **ATTENDEES**

### **Board Members:**

Chairman: Paul Koeper, Cape County – present

Vice- Chairman: Brent Buerck – present

Secretary: Randy Ruzicka, Ste. Genevieve County - absent

## **Voting Members:**

Leo Arnzen, Bollinger County - present
Tim Shelby, Bollinger County - absent
Trey Wiginton, City of Marble Hill- via zoom
Clint Tracy, Cape Girardeau County - absent
Stacy Kinder, City of Cape Girardeau - present
Jim Scaggs, Iron County - absent
Shelby Chan, City of Pilot Knob - absent
Jason Green, Madison County - absent
Larry Kemp, Madison County - present
Travis Parker, City of Fredericktown - absent

Mike Sauer, Perry County - presetn
Jay Wengert, Perry County - present
Ken Baer, City of Perryville - absent
Harold Gallaher, St. Francois County – absent
Larry Forsythe, City of Farmington - absent
Paul Hassler, City of Ste. Genevieve - absent
Paul Monia, City of Bloomsdale - absent
David Shaw City of Desloge- present

#### **Alternative Voting Members:**

Chad Hulvey, Bollinger County - absent
Kevin Cooper, Bollinger County - absent
Charles Fischer, City of Marble Hill – absent
Scott Meyer, City of Cape Girardeau – absent
Rodney Bollinger, City of Jackson - present
Dwayne Warncke, Iron County - absent
Tom Stevens, Madison County - absent
Don Firebaugh, Madison County - absent
James Settle, City of Fredericktown - present
Keith Hoehn, Perry County - present

Jared Kutz, Perry County - absent
Shawn Kay, City of Bonne Terre – absent
Greg Beavers, City of Farmington - absent
Karen Stuppy, Ste. Genevieve County - absent
Happy Welch, City of Ste. Genevieve - present
Rick Drury, City of Bloomsdale - absent
Kary Buckley, St. Francois County - absent
David Kater- St. Francois County - absent
Mark Marberry- Ste. Genevieve County- absent

# **At Large Members:**

Mandi Brink, SEMO Port – absent Crystal Jones, Perry County EDA - present Ronnie Inman, New Bourbon Port - present Denny Ward, SMTS – absent

## **MoDOT Representative in Attendance:**

Mike Brandon- present

## Staff and other individuals in Attendance:

Drew Christian, RPC Kara Johnston, RPC Alex McElroy, MPO- via zoom Debbie Colyott, Congressman Smith's Office Sandra Cabot, Missouri DED Ashley Baudendistel, City of Fredericktown Stephanie Daffron, City of Desloge Deborah McCarver, City of Leadington- via zoom Meeting was called to order by Chairman Paul Koeper at 2:02 p.m.

The Pledge of Allegiance was said followed by introductions.

Chairman Koeper requested a motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Wengert moved to approve the agenda, Mr. Welch seconded, motion carried.

Chairman Koeper requested a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Wengert moved to approve the minutes, Mr. Welch seconded, motion carried.

Next was the nomination and election of officers. With the retirement of Commissioner Nelson, the position of secretary was vacant. Both Chairman and Vice-Chairman were also up for re-election. Mr. Wengert moved that the officers be kept the same with the nomination of Commissioner Ruzicka as Secretary. Mr. Buerck seconded this motion; motion carried.

Mr. Christian spoke on the status of the Cape Girardeau/Jackson MPO. Mr. McElroy from the MPO stated that they did not meet in January. The February meeting of the MPO will include discussion about the work plan. Mr. Christian added that he has been working on the 4 year TIP update.

Mr. Christian went over handouts for Blueprint for Safer roads. Data is limited as of now since it is year to date data. This only includes a few days. There were a couple counties that have had zero fatalities in the first days of the year. Chairman Koeper spoke up to the importance of wearing a safety belt while on the roads.

Mr. Christian then moved on discussion of the Prioritization Process. He stated that this is one of the most important jobs of TAC Committee. Mr. Tanz and himself will be meeting with everyone the can before the next TAC meeting. The online survey will also be going out. This is important to get a comprehensive list of projects to send to MoDOT. This helps MoDOT with STIP projects and Unfunded Needs projects. The finalization of the lists will be done in July.

# **Report From MoDOT Representatives:**

Michael Brandon: Mr. Brandon spoke about how they removed many projects from the unfunded needs list this year. However, next year with the rising cost of inflation and the updates to the STIP not as many projects are going to be able to get done.

#### **Reports on Issues or Concerns**

Mayor Easter voiced concern about the large amount of trash and weeds on MoDOT roads in Cape Girardeau including the overpasses on HWY 55.

Chairman Koeper requested that Mr. Brandon invite others from MoDOT to the next meeting to discuss update on a few projects.

Commissioner Kemp asked about the delay in already scheduled projects completion. Mr. Brandon reported that consultants are getting harder to get responses from and contractors are backed up.

## **Other Business:**

The next TAC meeting was set for April 25, 2023, at 2:00 p.m.

Mr. Welch moved to adjourn meeting; Mr. Wengert seconded; motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 2:42 p.m.