MINUTES OF THE MONTHLY MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE SOUTHEAST MISSOURI SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT HELD JUNE 27, 2023

Executive Board Members:

Chairman: Happy Welch, City of Ste. Genevieve - present Vice-Chairman: Larry Kemp, Madison County - present Secretary/Treasurer: Jay Wengert, Perry County - present

Other Board Members:

Randy Ruzicka, Ste. Genevieve County Presiding Commissioner- present Clint Tracy, Cape Girardeau County Presiding Commissioner – present Leo Arnzen, Bollinger County Presiding Commissioner- absent Harold Gallaher, St. Francois County Presiding Commissioner- absent Mike Sauer, Perry County Presiding Commissioner- absent Mark McFarland, Park Hills City Administrator- absent Trey Wiginton, City of Marble Hill Mayor - absent Pete Pasternak, City of Desloge Mayor- present Jason Green, Madison County Presiding Commissioner – absent Brent Buerck, City of Perryville City Administrator – present Jim Scaggs, Iron County Presiding Commissioner – absent Robert Lourwood, City of Ironton Mayor- absent Kelly Korokis, City of Fredericktown Mayor – absent Johnny Setzer, City of Viburnum Mayor – absent Shelby Chan, City of Pilot Knob Mayor – absent Bob Schroer, City of Pilot Knob Board President – absent Larry Forsythe, City of Farmington Mayor - absent Greg Beavers, City of Farmington City Administrator- absent John Vickers, City of Leadwood Alderman - absent Stan Polivick, City of Cape Girardeau Public Works Director - present Clint Brown, City of Jackson Staff Engineer- absent

Others Present:

Keith Hoehn, Perry County Commission
Ashley Baudendistel, City of Fredericktown
James Settle, City of Fredericktown
Sandra Cabot, MoDED
Casey Brunke- City of Cape Girardeau
Mark Marberry- Ste Genevieve County Commission
Karen Stuppy- Ste Genevieve County Commission
Deborah McCarver- City of Leadington- VIA ZOOM
Janet Squibb- United Enterprises- VIA ZOOM
Jeremy Tanz, SEMO RPC
Kara Johnston, SEMO RPC
Alex Rios, SEMO RPC

Chairman Welch called the Solid Waste Management District meeting to order at 12:33 p.m. There was a quorum present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Chairman Welch asked for approval to approve the agenda. Commissioner Ruzicka moved to approve the agenda; Mr. Polivick seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Chairman Welch asked for approval of the minutes of the May 23, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Kemp moved that the minutes be approved; Commissioner Wengert seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Welch requested approval of the treasurer's report. Mr. Polivick moved the treasurer's report be accepted; Commissioner Kemp seconded the motion; motion carried.

Ms. Rios gave the update on grants. FY23 grants close the end of July. FY24 grants have been approved by DNR and are ready for FAA's to be signed. There was a special grant call for Perry and Ste Genevieve Counties due to an issue with publications.

Next Ms. Rios stated that there is a need for a new Solid Waste Advisory committee and a new plan. There has not been and updated plan since 2011. This committee can be comprised of board members and stakeholders. This plan will take several months and include plan drafting and new grant scoring

Other Business:

Mr. Polivick has announced his retirement at the end of the month. Casey Brunke, who is the former City Engineer, will be taking his place.

The next meeting for the Solid Waste Management District will be July 25, 2023.

Mr. Polivick moved the meeting be adjourned Commissioner Kemp seconded the motion; motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:42 p.m.

Jay Wengert	
Secretary/Treasurer	