SOUTHEAST MISSOURI REGIONAL PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

Annual Meeting Minutes September 25, 2023

The annual meeting of the Southeast Missouri Regional Planning and Economic Development Commission was called to order by Chairman Brent Buerck on Thursday, September 25, 2023, at the Robinson's Event Center in Perryville, Missouri

ATTENDEES

Karen Stuppy

| Brent Buerck | Chairman | SEMO RPC |
|-----------------|------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| Chrissy Buerck | Guest | SEMO RI C |
| Randy Ruzicka | Secretary | SEMO RPC |
| Linda Ruzicka | Guest | SEIVIO ICI |
| Jay Wengert | Treasurer | SEMO RPC |
| Rachel Wenger | Guest | SEIVIO IXI C |
| Jeremy Tanz | Executive Director | SEMO RPC |
| Jessica Tanz | Guest | SEIVIO IU C |
| Earl Mullins | President | The Space Museum & Grissom Center |
| Suzanne Mullins | Guest | The Space Maseum & Glissom Center |
| Randy Windsor | Board Director | The Space Museum & Grissom Center |
| Becky Windsor | Guest | |
| Leo Arnzen | Presiding Commissioner | Bollinger County |
| Tammy Arnzen | Guest | |
| Debbie Colyott | | Congressman Jason Smith's Office |
| Kevin Colyott | Guest | 5 |
| Donna Hickman | Office Director | Congressman Jason Smith's Office |
| Chris Dinkins | State Representative | District 144 |
| Barry Hovis | State Representative | District 146 |
| Laura Hovis | Guest | |
| Alex Wade | | Senator Rehder's Office |
| Don Firebaugh | County Clerk | Madison County |
| Rick Francis | State Representative | District 145 |
| Charles Herbst | Associate Commissioner | Cape Girardeau County Commission |
| Keith Hoehn | Associate Commissioner | Perry County Commission |
| Ronnie Inman | Chairman | New Bourbon Regional Port Authority |
| David Kater | Associate Commissioner | St. François County Commission |
| Tina Kater | Guest | |
| Larry Kemp | Associate Commissioner | Madison County |
| Larry Riney | Mayor | City of Perryville |
| Frank Robinson | Owner | Robinson Construction |
| Joanie Robinson | Former Staff Member | |
| Scott Sattler | Executive Director | Perry County EDA |
| Mike Sauer | Presiding Commissioner | Perry County Commission |
| Charles Skelton | Original Board Member | SEMO RPC |
| Scott Skelton | Guest | |

Ste. Genevieve County Commission

Associate Commissioner

| Mark Marberry | Associate Commissioner | Ste. Genevieve County Commission |
|---------------|------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Clint Tracy | Associate Commissioner | Cape Girardeau County Commission |
| Deena Ward | Events Director | Farmington Regional Chamber |
| Candy Hente | Executive Director | Farmington Regional Chamber |

Trey Wiginton Mayor City of Marble Hill

Becky Wiginton Guest

Stan Balsman Retired Staff Member SEMO RPC

Debbie Balsman Guest

Shelby Chan Mayor City of Pilot Knob

Buddy Finke Guest

Crystal Jones Executive Director Perry County EDA

Brad Ledbetter Regional Director MoDNR

Tiffany Ledbetter Guest

Trish Ertzfeld Tourism Director Perry County Heritage Tourism
Cary Harbison Executive Director SEMO Regional Port Authority
Steve Hobbs Executive Director Missouri Association of Counties

Pete Pasternak Mayor City of Desloge

Kellie Murray Guest

Daniel Presson Asst. VP for Econ & WF Devl. SEMO State University

Drew Christian Deputy Director SEMO RPC

Randa Christian Guest

Sharon Gotto Clerical Aide SEMO RPC

Wayne Gotto Guest

Erica Palmer Fiscal Officer SEMO RPC

Landon Palmer Guest

Leslie SeabaughRegional PlannerSEMO RPCMargaret YatesGrant AdministratorSEMO RPCKara JohnstonAdministrative AssistantSEMO RPC

Adam Seabaugh Guest

Daniel Winningham Regional Planner SEMO RPC

Caroline Winningham Guest

Sarah Brown GIS Specialist SEMO RPC Lydia Keller Grant Writer SEMO RPC Alexandra Rios Environmental Planner SEMO RPC

Chairman Brent Buerck called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, Chairman Buerck requested a motion to approve the agenda; Mayor Winginton moved to approve the agenda, Mayor Riney seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Buerck gave the introductions of the head table.

Chairman Buerck requested approval of the **minutes** of the August 22, 2023, monthly meeting. Secretary Ruzicka moved to approve the minutes with corrections; Commissioner Sauer seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Bureck requested approval of the Treasurer's Report as of September 15, 2023, which are available at the registration table. Commissioner Sauer moved the financial statements be approved as presented; Commissioner Tracy seconded the motion; motion carried.

BUSINESS

Chairman Buerck asked for a motion for a recommendation for extension of the lease with the Council of Governments for one year at a rate of \$21,600.00 per annum. The motion was made by Commissioner Wengert; Commissioner Tracy seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Buerck then proceeded to the Election of Board of Directors. Nominations were done at the August 2023 meeting. Nominations were to keep officers the same for the next two-year term. That would be Chairman- Brent Buerck, Vice-Chairman- John Singleton, Secretary- Randy Ruzicka, Treasurer- Jay Wengert. Commissioner Tracy moved to elect current board to serve another two-year term; Mayor Riney seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Buerck next presented the Budget for Operations for Fiscal Year 2024 and recommendations of the Budget and Personnel Committees. He stated the budget is available at the registration table. Chairman Buerck requested a motion to approve the budget. Secretary Ruzicka made the motion to approve; Commissioner Herbst seconded the motion; motion carried.

Earl Mullins with The Space Museum & Grissom Center was the speaker. This Museum is in Bonne Terre Missouri. This 20-year-old museum has a collection of NASA artifacts that values over \$30 million. A few of the artifacts/items they have are one of two moon rocks located in Missouri and a 2nd stage rocket engine. The museum is equipped with a space shuttle launch theater. Individuals can see, hear, and feel what a real launch is like. There is 12 people on the Board of Directors with a combine 385 years of experience with space.

RPC Executive Director Jeremy Tanz stated the Commission has been quite busy with a large variety of work. Grant writing and Administration was in full force with ARPA Jail grant help in Iron County, Water/wastewater grants, Mrs. Yates assisted Rankin with their DRA grant which was completed earlier in the week. There are trails and sidewalk apps through TAP that Mr. Christian has been aiding counties/cities. Ms. Seabaugh has been busy with a new TIF district, 6 HSOC projects, \$396,000 in Revolving Loans and CEDS.

Executive Director Tanz presented a recognition award to Sharon Gotto, Clerical Aide, for her 15 years of service to the RPC. In addition, Director Tanz recognized officials from local, county, state, and federal offices, along with staff and former staff members.

The next meeting will be Tuesday, October 24, 2023, at 1:00 p.m., in the Commission's meeting room in Perryville, Missouri.

| Chairman Bu | erk requested | l a motion to | adjourn. | Treasurer | Wengert | made | the motion | to | adjourn; |
|-------------|---------------|---------------|-----------|-------------|------------|---------|------------|----|----------|
| Commissione | r Stuppy seco | onded the mo | tion; mot | ion carried | l. Meeting | g adjoi | urned. | | |

| Res | spectfully submitted, |
|-----|----------------------------|
| | Randy Ruzicka Secretary |
| | Brent Buerck |
| | Chairman |