MINUTES OF THE MONTHLY MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE SOUTHEAST MISSOURI SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT HELD JANUARY 23, 2024

Executive Board Members:

Chairman: Happy Welch, City of Ste. Genevieve - present Vice-Chairman: Larry Kemp, Madison County - present Secretary/Treasurer: Jay Wengert, Perry County – present

Other Board Members:

Randy Ruzicka, Ste. Genevieve County Presiding Commissioner- present Clint Tracy, Cape Girardeau County Presiding Commissioner - absent Leo Arnzen, Bollinger County Presiding Commissioner-present Harold Gallaher, St. Francois County Presiding Commissioner- absent Mike Sauer, Perry County Presiding Commissioner- absent Zachary Franklin, Park Hills City Administrator- absent Trey Wiginton, City of Marble Hill Mayor - absent Pete Pasternak, City of Desloge Mayor- absent Jason Green, Madison County Presiding Commissioner - absent Brent Buerck, City of Perryville City Administrator- absent Jim Scaggs, Iron County Presiding Commissioner - absent Jeffrey Stinson, City of Ironton Mayor- absent Kelly Korokis, City of Fredericktown Mayor - absent Johnny Setzer, City of Viburnum Mayor – absent Shelby Chan, City of Pilot Knob Mayor – absent Bob Schroer, City of Pilot Knob Board President – absent Larry Forsythe, City of Farmington Mayor - absent Greg Beavers, City of Farmington City Administrator- absent John Vickers, City of Leadwood Alderman - absent Casey Brunke, City of Cape Girardeau Public Works Director - present Clint Brown, City of Jackson Staff Engineer- absent

Others Present:

Ashley Baudendistel, City of Fredericktown James Settle, City of Fredericktown Keith Hoehn, Perry County Commission Karen Stuppy, Ste Genevieve County Commission David Kater, St Francois County Commission Sandra Cabot, MoDED Jeremy Tanz, SEMO RPC Kara Johnston, SEMO RPC Alex Rios, SEMO RPC Sarah Brown, SEMO RPC

Chairman Welch called the Solid Waste Management District meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. There was a quorum present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Chairman Welch asked for approval to approve the agenda. Commissioner Ruzicka moved to approve the agenda; Commissioner Kemp seconded the motion; the motion carried.

Chairman Welch asked for approval of the minutes of the December 13, 2023, meeting Commissioner Kemp moved that the minutes be approved; Ms. Brunke seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Welch requested approval of the treasurer's report. Commissioner Ruzicka moved the treasurer's report be accepted; Commissioner Kemp seconded the motion; motion carried.

Ms. Rios gave the update on grants. Quarter 2 has ended. United Enterprises placed all of their bins. Bolinger County has hired a worker through Goodwill and are looking to hire another. MRC is waiting on their baler to be delivered still.

City of Cape Girardeau is asking for the release of 15% retainage for the R2023-002 grant project. This amount is \$4,746.01. Commissioner Kemp moved to release the retainage to Cape Girardeau, Commissioner Ruzicka seconded that; motion carried.

City of Cape Girardeau is asking for reimbursement less 15% retainage for the R2024-002 grant project. This amount is \$8,439.90. Commissioner Ruzicka moved to release the retainage to Cape Girardeau, Commissioner Wengert seconded that; motion carried

FY25 Grant application and project awarding was next. The grant scoring committee had met previous to this meeting. They came up with a suggested awarding to present to the board. This was as follows: Bollinger County Recycling- \$6,866.44, Holcim- \$42,750.00, City of Jackson- \$47,837.95, MRC- \$ 7,110.75, Ste Genevieve Recycling Center- \$2,434.86, and TG Missouri- \$3,000.00. This was presented to the board and open for discussion. There was no discussion following. Commissioner Wengert moved to award FY25 projects as presented by the committee, Ms. Brunke seconded the motion; motion carried.

Other Business:

The next meeting for the Solid Waste Management District will be February 27, 2024.

Commissioner Kemp moved the meeting be adjourned Commissioner Ruzicka seconded the motion; motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:36 p.m.

Jay Wengert Secretary/Treasurer