Homeland Security

Southeast Missouri Regional Planning Commission is the lead RPC for the Region E Regional Homeland Security Oversight Committee. SEMO RPC serves as the fiscal agent and the administrator for the Region E Homeland Security Grant program. The Region E RHSOC serves the following counties, Bollinger, Iron, Madison, Cape Girardeau, Wayne, Ripley, Butler, Stoddard, Scott, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot and Dunklin. Missouri’s national award-winning statewide Homeland Security Regionalization Framework elevates the importance of regional priorities in the states Homeland Security Planning and funding. This committee is made up of 16 different disciplines including Emergency Management Directors, Chief of Police, County Sheriffs, Chief of Fire, Public Health, Homeland Security Response Teams, Mayors/City Administrators, County Commissioners, Private/Public Industries, Emergency Medical Services, 911 Representatives, Volunteer Groups, Public Works, Agriculture, Schools, and Hospitals. The job of these 16 different disciplines is for them to come together as one committee and make decisions on the needs for the region as a whole-not just on an individual agency level. There is a lot of dedication and passion that is put into this group. Region E RHSOC is better prepared today to keep us safe and help the citizenry of Missouri in our everyday challenges, but most importantly, in the event of a disaster.

The RHSOC group to date has been able to procure several much-needed assets for our region such as a Mobile Hospital, Communication Command Vehicles and essential equipment to respond to a disaster. These items were fully funded by the Missouri Office of Homeland Security. We hope that we can continue to make Region E better prepared and equipped in a time of need.

Open Grants